Customer Reviews

The Jim Jennings Transmissions staff of transmission service & repair technicians and management realize that our customers in Baltimore and the greater Baltimore County community are the most valued assets of our Baltimore area auto repair shop. We are always happy to receive testimonials from car owners and equally happy to share their feedback with you! So if you live in Baltimore or the surrounding Baltimore County area please consider our shop for all your car repair and service needs.

Share Review
  • My car broke down and I was told that it was a transmission problem and the transmission repair shop I went to was suggesting that I get my transmission rebuilt for $3000! Well, I sure did not have that kind of money laying around and had almost given up, when I decided to get a second opinion. And that is when I met the amazing Jim Jennings Team! They did a thorough diagnostic and found out that my issue was not even transmission. Long story short, I ended up paying WAYYYY less and my car is running smoothly till now! By the way its been 5 months :) And I must mention the excellent customer service, they kept me informed, explained things very well and the main store owner was so down to earth and helpful. Now I don't hope to have a transmission problem, but if I do- You know who I would be going to!

    Jessica Esochaghi – Whitemarsh Maryland
    2/9/2015
    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • In December 2007, we had to have the transmission and ECM replaced in my 2001 Toyota RAV 4. We struggled with whether to incur the expense ($5,100) that we had not budgeted for or to just scrap the car and buy a new one. To make a long story short we went ahead and had the transmission and ECM replaced. Fast forward 3 years. The RAV 4 has been running just fine and out of the blue we get a call from JC at Jim Jennings Transmissions. JC told us that he had learned, through an online forum, that there was a possible warranty enhancement available through Toyota to cover the replacement of the ECM and transmission on our model year RAV 4. JC suggested we contact Toyota for more information. We did just that and on Friday we received a reimbursement check from Toyota in the amount of $5,147. JC most certainly did not have to notify us about the extended warranty (Toyota should have done that!). JC and Jim Jennings Transmissions stood to gain nothing...but our eternal gratitude...for making that phone call. We can't begin to say enough good things about the EXCEPTIONAL customer service we received from JC! It's so nice to know there are businesses with integrity that truly care about their customers!

    TJ Brooks – Catonsville Maryland
    12/3/2010
    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • We took our Hyundai in for transmission work, needed a replacement transmission and we shopped for the most reliable shop we could find. After researching the internet, and reviewing the great customer comments, as well as an A+ rating from the BBB we decided to have our work done there. Jim Jennings owner, Gary was extremely helpful and even had shown us parts and what they had to replace. All the staff were very courteous. I would recommend Jim Jennings for all your transmission needs.

    Jay Carpenter – Middle River Maryland
    3/3/2014
    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • I took my wife's car to Jim Jennings for repair fearing the worst. The vehicle had been shifting hard and revving in between changes. The car was seen at Jim Jennings and found to have problem with the computer, not the transmission. The team at Jim Jennings did some research and found an obscure recall on this vehicle. They requested I take the car to the dealership and have it fixed for free! This saved me a lot of money and shows what a honest and respectable establishment Jim Jennings is.

    Rob Johns – Edgemere Maryland
    9/22/2011
    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • I have been recommending Jim Jennings Transmissions to my friends and family members for the past week. Recently, my car had a leak. The shop that I took it to was unable to do the repair work and recommended Jim Jennings Transmissions. - I am extremely pleased with how courteous they were to me at Jim Jennings Transmissions, how they kept me informed concerning the repair's progress, how they explained what was needed and why, how promptly it was completed, and how they "went the extra mile" to make the entire experience easier for me.

    Beth Woody – Nottingham Maryland
    3/13/2014
    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • When our Honda Civic was having transmissions issues, we researched many different locations in the area. We were discussing our search with our neighbor and she referred us to Jim Jennings Transmissions. She told us that they were a reliable company and they have been in business for many years. We read numerous reviews about Jim Jennings, from several websites, and the impression we gathered was Jim Jennings is a trustworthy place. We took our Civic in and we received friendly, honest, and knowledgeable customer service. They did an excellent job identifying and repairing our transmission problem; the repair was done quickly; and we were charged a reasonable rate. We will definitely bring our vehicles to Jim Jennings in the future, and we highly recommend Jim Jennings to anyone who is looking for a dependable company.

    Eugene Sobul – Essex Maryland
    3/1/2013
    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Jim Jennings Transmissions was recommended to me by my step-father who had service there some time ago. When I had car trouble, I called JJ and Gary spoke to me over the phone. I told him the symptoms that my car was having. And he broke it down for me and told me that it could've been a number of reasons why my car was acting the way it was, so he asked me to drop off my car and someone will be in touch with me the next morning.Come to find out, it wasn't my transmission (thank god), but a fuse that was blown. The price to get it fixed was very reasonable and affordable. I would definitely pay that price again before I pay the price for a new transmission. I'm just thankful that it wasn't my transmission !! Ray actually worked on my car and made it better again..He kept in touch with me before each step that he took to fix my car. Thank you so much !! I would definitely recommend JJ transmissions and I would refer my friends and family as well (: You guys are awesome !

    Jessica H. – Dundalk Maryland
    1/31/2014
    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Jim Jennings Transmission is a very professional repair center. the price is right and they treat you like family. They even gave me a tour and an education lesson about transmissions.

    Phyllis – Baltimore Maryland
    9/1/2011
    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • I can't thank Jim Jennings Transmission enough. The clutch in my truck went out,and I took it to another repair shop on Eastern Ave and they gave me a price over $3,000.00 for clutch and transmission work that needed to be done. I was ready to dump my truck until my boss told me to take it to Jim Jennings. I paid $727.87, and I had no transmission problem. I told them going in what the other place was going to charge me. As far as I am concerned Jim Jennings could have done the same thing,but they didn't. I can't thank Jim Jennings enough. They are honest, do good work,and fast. Whatever the top star is, I would have to give it to them. It's nice to know there are still businesses that are honest. They have my business from now on. I would tell anyone to go there.

    David – Dundalk Maryland
    7/10/2011
    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Excellent customer service! A business I can truly trust and I will recommend to my family and friends. Thanks for all your help!

    Diane – Odenton Maryland
    1/7/2011
    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction