Customer Reviews

The Jim Jennings Transmissions staff of transmission service & repair technicians and management realize that our customers in Baltimore and the greater Baltimore County community are the most valued assets of our Baltimore area auto repair shop. We are always happy to receive testimonials from car owners and equally happy to share their feedback with you! So if you live in Baltimore or the surrounding Baltimore County area please consider our shop for all your car repair and service needs.

Share Review
  • My car broke down and I was told that it was a transmission problem and the transmission repair shop I went to was suggesting that I get a rebuilt transmission for $3000! Well, I sure did not have that kind of money laying around and had almost given up, when I decided to get a second opinion from another transmission shop in Baltimore. And that is when I met the amazing team of transmission specialists at Jim Jennings! They did a thorough diagnostic and found out that my problem was not even transmission. Long story short, I ended up paying WAYYYY less and my car is running smoothly till now! By the way its been 5 months :) And I must mention the excellent customer service, they kept me informed, explained things very well and the main store owner was so down to earth and helpful. Now I do not hope to have another transmission problem, but if I do- you know who I would be going to!

    Jessica Esochaghi – White Marsh Maryland
    2/9/2015
    Our Response

    Every member of the team really appreciates you taking the time to share some comments about the transmission problem we diagnosed for you at our shop in Baltimore. We know you could have found a transmission shop in White Marsh to help with your problem and we are grateful we had a chance to be of assistance. We also hope you never have another problem with your transmission but if you do we will be ready to help you again.

    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • In December 2007, we had to have the transmission and ECM replaced in my 2001 Toyota RAV 4. We struggled with whether to incur the $5,1000 expense that we had not budgeted for or to just scrap the car and buy a new one. To make a long story short we went ahead and had the transmission and ECM replaced. Fast forward 3 years. The RAV 4 has been running just fine and out of the blue we get a call from JC at Jim Jennings Transmissions. JC told us that he had learned, through an online forum, that there was a possible transmission warranty enhancement available through Toyota to cover the replacement of the ECM and transmission on our model year RAV 4. JC suggested we contact Toyota for more information. We did just that and on Friday we received a reimbursement check from Toyota in the amount of $5,147. JC most certainly did not have to notify us about the extended warranty (Toyota should have done that!). JC stood to gain nothing...but our eternal gratitude...for making that phone call. We can't begin to say enough good things about the EXCEPTIONAL customer service we received from JC! It's so nice to know there are businesses with integrity that truly care about their customers!

    TJ Brooks – Catonsville Maryland
    12/3/2010
    Our Response

    We were more than glad to be of help to you with the problem you were having with your Toyota Rav 4 and we appreciate your taking the time to share your kinds about our transmission shop in Baltimore. The goal of each and every team member is to be the best transmission shop in Baltimore and feedback like yours let's us know we are doing our job and reaching our goal.

    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • We took our Hyundai in for transmission repair, needed a transmission replacement and we shopped for the most reliable transmission shop we could find. After researching the internet, and reviewing the great customer comments, as well as an A rating from the BBB we decided to have our work done at Jim Jennings Transmission in Baltimore. The owner, Gary, was extremely helpful and even had shown us parts and what they had to replace. All the transmission team were very courteous. I would recommend Jim Jennings for all your transmission repairs.

    Jay Carpenter – Middle River Maryland
    3/3/2014
    Our Response

    Thank you Jay for sharing your review about your Hyundai transmission repair at our transmission shop in Baltimore. Our goal is having a satisfied customer like you recommend us to their family and friends. Thanks again!

    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • I took my wife's car to Jim Jennings for repair fearing the worst. The vehicle had been shifting hard and revving in between changes. The car was seen at Jim Jennings Transmissions in Baltimore and found to have problem with the computer, not the transmission. The transmission repair team at Jim Jennings did some research and found an obscure recall on this vehicle. They requested I take the car to the dealership and have it fixed for free! This saved me a lot of money and shows what a honest and respectable establishment Jim Jennings is.

    Rob Johns – Edgemere Maryland
    9/22/2011
    Our Response

    Thank you Rob for coming over from Edgemere. We are always happy when we can save customers like you their hard earned money. Having happy endings, is what our team at Jim Jennings Transmissions in Baltimore is all about. We look forward to helping your friends, family and you again with any transmission repairs.

    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • I have been recommending Jim Jennings Transmissions to my friends and family members for the past week. Recently, my car had a transmission leak . The shop that I took it to was unable to do the transmission repair and recommended Jim Jennings Transmissions. - I am extremely pleased with how courteous the team was to me , how they kept me informed concerning the repair's progress, explained what was needed and why, promptly it was completed, and "went the extra mile" to make the entire experience easier for me.

    Beth Woody – Nottingham Maryland
    3/13/2014
    Our Response

    Thank you Beth Woody from nearby Nottingham Maryland. Each transmission repair tech on our team at Jim Jennings Transmissions is held accountable for every repair they undertake to insure you will receive "the best from the best". One of our goals is to always go "the extra mile" you mentioned.

    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • When our Honda Civic was having transmissions problems, we researched many different locations in the area. We were discussing our search with our neighbor and she referred us to Jim Jennings Transmissions. She told us that they were a reliable company and they have been in business for many years. We read numerous reviews about them, from several websites, and the impression we gathered was Jim Jennings was a trustworthy transmission shop. We took our Civic in and we received friendly, honest, and knowledgeable customer service. They did an excellent job identifying and repairing our transmission problem; the repair was done quickly; and we were charged a reasonable rate. We will definitely bring our vehicles to Jim Jennings in the future, and we highly recommend their team to anyone who is looking for a dependable company.

    Eugene Sobul – Essex Maryland
    3/1/2013
    Our Response

    What wonderful words of praise for our team of transmission experts. Jim Jennings Transmissions in Baltimore understands the importance of finding a well-trained & qualified automotive transmission technician and hope to serve your family, friends and you in the future.

    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Jim Jennings Transmissions was recommended to me by my step-father who had service there some time ago. When I had car trouble, I called JJ and Gary spoke to me over the phone. I told him the symptoms that my car was having. And he broke it down for me and told me that it could've been a number of reasons why my car was acting the way it was, so he asked me to drop off my car, they would do a computer diagnosis and someone will be in touch with me the next morning. Come to find out, it wasn't my transmission (thank god), but a fuse that was blown. The price to get it fixed was very reasonable and affordable. I would definitely pay that price again before I pay the price for a new transmission. I'm just thankful it wasn't my transmission! Ray actually worked on my car and made it better again. He kept in touch with me before each step that he took to fix my car. Thank you so much! I would definitely recommend Jim Jennings Transmissions and I would refer my friends and family as well (: You guys are awesome!

    Jessica H. – Dundalk Maryland
    1/31/2014
    Our Response

    Many thanks Jessica for your kind thoughts about the diagnosis we did of your transmission problem ending up being only a fuse replacement. We are sincerely happy you would also recommend Jim Jennings Transmissions to your friends and family.

  • Jim Jennings Transmission is a very professional transmission repair shop. the price is right and they treat you like family. They even gave me a tour and an education lesson about transmission repair.

    Phyllis . – Baltimore Maryland
    9/1/2011
    Our Response

    Thanks Phyllis for your review of our transmission repair shop. Our Jennings family knows that reputation and customers are our most valuable assets. We pledge to always do the "right thing" to protect them.

    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • I can't thank Jim Jennings Transmission enough. The clutch in my truck went out,and I took it to another repair shop on Eastern Ave and they gave me a price over $3,000 for a clutch repair job and some transmission repair. I was ready to dump my truck until my boss told me to take it to Jim Jennings. I paid $727.87, and I had no transmission problem. I told them going in what the other place was going to charge me. As far as I am concerned Jim Jennings could have done the same thing, but they didn't. I can't thank Jim Jennings enough. They are honest, do good work, and fast. Whatever the top star is, I would have to give it to them. It's nice to know there are still businesses that are honest. They have my business from now on. I would tell anyone to go there.

    David . – Dundalk Maryland
    7/10/2011
    Our Response

    And we can't thank you enough, David, for the kind words. We hope your friends & family in Dundalk and Baltimore area will bring their transmission problems to us too. Our website at www.JimJenningsTransmissions.com is available 24/7 for quotes and appointments.

    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Excellent repair team! A business I can truly trust and I will recommend Jim Jennings Transmissions to my family and friends. Thanks for all your help!

    Diane . – Odenton Maryland
    1/7/2011
    Our Response

    Diane, thank you for your thoughtful words about our Jim Jennings Transmissions customer service repair team. We are glad that coming up from Odenton to our repair shop in Baltimore was worth your while. Recommending us to your family and friends is our highest goal.

    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction